Assistance with 3D Reconstruction of VHP Files

My name is Matheus, and I am a Biomedical Engineer based in Brazil. I am currently working with some files from the Visible Human Project (VHP) and would like to perform a 3D reconstruction of them.

I followed the step-by-step instructions from this GitHub repository (IDC-Tutorials/notebooks/collections_demos/nlm_visible_human_project.ipynb at master · ImagingDataCommons/IDC-Tutorials · GitHub) to download some files for both bodies using Python. However, when I loaded them into the 3D reconstruction software, it only opened a single slice and was unable to reconstruct, despite the series containing more than 1,000 images.

I also tried following this tutorial (Loading IDC converted Visible Human DICOM images into Slicer - #12 by fedorov), but I was unable to make it work in Python. While I have some programming knowledge, it is not my specialty.

I would greatly appreciate any assistance on how to successfully perform the 3D reconstruction. Additionally, I would like to know if there are pre-processed data sets available without the ice cube artifacts in the images.

Furthermore, I am interested in the reconstruction of both digitized cryosections and CT/MR volumes.

1 Like

Matheus, welcome and thank you for posting your questions in this forum! :+1:

We will try to help, but first I think I would need more information to better understand what you are trying to accomplish.

Could you clarify what you mean by “3D reconstruction”? Do you want to save the DICOM series, which is represented as multiple files into a single volume file? Or do you want to load the entire volume into software? Or do you want to do volume rendering?

Also, Visible Human includes Computed Tomography (CT), Magnetic Resonance (MR) and digitized cryosection images. Are you trying to do this for a specific imaging type, or for all of those?