I have a question on the image of non-cancer ct lung image

Hello, professor. I am a student in University of Seoul. I am wondering that if I can get a normal person CT image for datasets. Because, I can search ct image for lung cancer image, but me and my teammates are struggling from get the normal person ct image which is really hard to find. I want to ask you to get a normal person ct image if not, please let me know how to get ct image because we need that for a simple research.

This is a great question!

Indeed, most of the images in IDC are from cancer patients. However, the NLST collection contains a dataset of chest CTs collected in a cancer screening trial, and thus will include images for non-cancer patients.

I am not that familiar with that collection, but you could probably use some of the metadata in the bigquery-public-data.idc_v9.nlst_canc table to select patients that did not have cancer.

As an example, you can query for the counts of patients that have distinct values of clinical_n (Clinical N code for staging, AJCC 6, per dictionary here) with this query:

SELECT
  clinical_n,
  COUNT(DISTINCT(pid)) as num_patients
FROM
  `bigquery-public-data.idc_v9.nlst_canc`
GROUP BY
  clinical_n

which will result in the following:

But I do not know if the missing value for clinical or pathological stage, for example, can be used as the indication that there was no cancer in that patient. @dclunie do you know?

In the ā€œpersonā€ table supplied by the NLST folks there is a ā€œlung_cancerā€ column described as:

Confirmed Lung Cancer?

Does the participant have a confirmed lung cancer diagnosis?

0=ā€œNoā€
1=ā€œYesā€

1 Like

Thank you for your help once again, but I have a question on open data which is# LIDC-IDRIthat we are using this data.

Is this data including non-cancer lung ct image? If that is the case, we will be very happy to get this idea.